IMHO, This fella is really good, and I must admit, he is new to me (at least that I can remember)… Even though this performance is almost 20 years old, and a couple references are dated, by and large his routines could be done verbatim today and resonate. I wouldn’t call him a “precursor” or “ahead of his time”, but I would say he sees/saw the world as it really is, and not influenced by anyone or anything.
One of my favorite comments about him was that, when his folks took him to a therapist in his teens, after one visit, the therapist told him “…it’s them, not you…”
I DO like his style, and he has excellent timing… I think he reads his audience really well too…
these vids are all pieces of a performance he gave in London in the year prior to his death (he may have known at performance time that he was dying, tho he may not have quite got the imminence of it all…)
If you knew of him, hopefully, you guessed right withOUT looking. If you did not, I am pleased to introduce you to him.

The first quote I gave you is a direct quote from this performance (nearish to the end, methinks).

Today a young man on acid realized that all matter is merely energy condensed to a slow vibration, that we are all one consciousness experiencing itself subjectively, there is no such thing as death, life is only a dream, and we are the imagination of ourselves.

so it’s time to decide if you’re ready to find out who the hell this is, because, obviously, even if you don’t recognize him, his name is on each episode/vid. Longest one is only about 13 minutes, most are 10ish or so. Bio and links at the end of the post…

ENJOY!!!

For the most part, NSFW!!!

(BONUS: ITALIAN SUBTITLES!!!)
REVELATIONS

Revelations 2/8

3/8

4/8 NSFW!!!!!!!!!

5/8 NSFW!!!!!

6/8

7/8

8/8

BIO can be found at:
his website
Wiki

Another reference that I used as hint/clue here on Wiki:

Denis Leary

For many years, Hicks was friends with fellow comedian Denis Leary. But in 1993 Hicks was angered by Leary’s album No Cure for Cancer, which featured lines and subject matter similar to Hicks’ routine.[22] According to American Scream: The Bill Hicks Story by Cynthia True, upon hearing the album “Bill was furious. All these years, aside from the occasional jibe, he had pretty much shrugged off Leary’s lifting. Comedians borrowed, stole stuff, and even bought bits from one another. Milton Berle and Robin Williams were famous for it. This was different. Leary had practically line for line taken huge chunks of Bill’s act and recorded it.”[23]

The friendship ended abruptly as a result.[24]

At least three stand-up comedians have gone on the record stating they believe Leary stole Hicks’s material as well as his persona and attitude.[25][26][27] In an interview, when Hicks was asked why he had quit smoking, he answered, “I just wanted to see if Denis would, too.”[28]

In another interview, Hicks said, “I have a scoop for you. I stole his [Leary's] act. I camouflaged it with punchlines, and, to really throw people off, I did it before he did.”

Related sources:
YouTube
Sacred Cow Artist Bios

From his Bio on his website:

On February 7th, 1994, Bill wrote his last words to the world:

I was born William Melvin Hicks on December 16, 1961 in Valdosta, Georgia. Ugh. Melvin Hicks from Georgia. Yee Har! I already had gotten off to life on the wrong foot. I was always “awake,” I guess you’d say. Some part of me clamoring for new insights and new ways to make the world a better place.

All of this came out years down the line, in my multitude of creative interests that are the tools I now bring to the Party. Writing, acting, music, comedy. A deep love of literature and books. Thank God for all the artists who’ve helped me. I’d read these words and off I went – dreaming my own imaginative dreams. Exercising them at will, eventually to form bands, comedy, more bands, movies,anything creative. This is the coin of the realm I use in my words – Vision.

On June 16, 1993 I was diagnosed with having “liver cancer that had spread from the pancreas.” One of life’s weirdest and worst jokes imaginable. I’d been making such progress recently in my attitude, my career and realizing my dreams that it just stood me on my head for a while. “Why me!?” I would cry out, and “Why now!?”

Well, I know now there may never be any answers to those particular questions, but maybe in telling a little about myself, we can find some other answers to other questions. That might help our way down our own particular paths, towards realizing my dream of New Hope and New Happiness. Amen.

I left in love, in laughter, and in truth and wherever truth, love and laughter abide, I am there in spirit.

On Saturday, February 26th, 1994, Bill died. He was 32.

RE: clues/hints:
category W is for William
yes, there was a Leary, Denis, not Timothy
“GB” = GOATBOOOOOOOOOYYYYYY
I know some of the hints were off-the-wall, but so is this post, if you ask me (and so am I)!!!!
BuddhaKat

;)