The “Orbit Trap” http://orbittrap.ca/?p=2889 is an apparently anti-fractal-as-art blog… on this particular post, the author(s) seem to rag on a piece by fractal master, Kerry Mitchell, “The Fractal Art Manifesto” which was published in 1999 https://www.fractalus.com/info/manifesto.htm
so… I’ve only recently become aware of this blog, and in fact I had not before read the entire “Manifesto” until this latest post of “OT”… I was rather stunned by the look-down-your-nose attitude expressed in this blog… I mean, who cares if you like fractals, or think of them as art… however, this one moved me to respond, and so I did… though it is not necessary for you to have read either of the above docs, it might be helpful just to scan “OT”, so as to understand my counterpoints…
____________________________________________________________________

Buddha Kat says on 8/26/11:
it seems to me your ability to “listen” is severely limited by your inflated opinion of yourself, ie your knowledge of and openness to the evolution of, in this case, art… are you an “artist”? if so, may I see some of your “works” of art? I hope you don’t mean to pass this fractal bashing blog thingy as art… but if you do, so be it…
being able to fine tune a fractal, be it with the fractal generator itself, or with other graphic editing apps, is the heart of the art, the soul of the artist… a fractal artist may or may not fully grasp the math or the programming of the app and yet, that same artist can create evocative, powerful compositions, enhanced by their own choices – of balance or imbalance, which, in fact, the computer will not always “fix”, of light and dark, highlighting and shadow, again as defined by the artist’s intent and hand to effect mood or emotion, of color palettes that mesh, clash or even collide with visual cacophony, if that is the choice of the artist – in any of the fractal generators that truly allow the user to exercise artistic manipulation, over and above what the fractal generator app “suggests”… these programs are not the boss, just as MS Word or Corel WordPerfect are the not boss of any writer who chooses to produce a masterpiece novel to a lovely haiku to a personally opinionated blog… perhaps you should try something other than “Flame Painter”, or the built in fractalizer effects of many popular graphic editing applications to expand your horizons… (I hesitate to name even these simple tools, as they too, can be the inspiring beginning from which a true fractal artist evolves, or no)t… there are simple fractal “makers” and there are complex ones… the more complex, the more control the artist has in the creative process… as in any art form, the tool does not make the art, the heart, soul, eye, ear, drive of the artist using the tool creates the art…
and just so you know, art is as much a journey of exploration, artists seeking to understand the tools at their disposal, as it is a controlled use of the subtleties of the tools they discover and use to express their artistic energy…

and now I hear you say that a “fractal” is not real, like a tree or a person, or perhaps a coastline… have you ever viewed a satellite view of a coastline, eg, that is a fractal in its “real” state/nature, the math, the iterations of self similar shapes, some of which a photographer might seek to “capture” in his art…

I wonder about the implication of your statement that it easier to tell what program, rather than what artist made a particular piece… well, that may be so to an eye untrained in the art of fractals… I admit, it can be so, but what a delight it is to recognize the artist, thinking the piece was made in one program, when in fact it was made in another… being able to recognize the medium is not an insult or in any way make the creator less of an artist… I can tell when a piece is a photograph more often than I can tell who the photographer is…

in closing, may I just say that whether or not you (what is your name again?) consider me (a fractal/graphic/visual artist) an artist, is of no consequence to me, as I will continue to create and share what I feel to be stimulating or evocative or even boring to someone else who may view my art… certainly, not everyone is going to like my art, or even think of it as art… much of what I view I may not like, but I do not insist it is not art, just because I don’t like or “get” it… same with much of what I read, or hear, et al…

art is not based on how much money you make with it, how well known you are for it or how well known your art is… art is the creative outlet we (humans) have come to name some of our compulsions, obsessions, desires, wants, needs, et al to express/communicate with those outside of ourselves… and every viewer/”receiver”, as Kerry says, has as much of a freedom to like or not, view or not, and criticize or not… but no one has the right to tell me I am wrong to describe/define what I consider to be art, art…

artists have feelings too…
__________________________________________________________________________

in the end, I’m glad I spoke up… I expressed what I was feeling in an appropriate manner felt good about putting myself out there for criticism…

that is all….

