Well, first off, I want to say I never thought I’d be creating posts in alphabetical order, as, so far, they have been… I figured I’d be all over the alphabet, maybe even doubling up on some letters before I even got to others… well, I never promised you an alphabetically ordered garden, but if you get one, hey –  you’re ahead of the game…

So… I want to talk about concerts… in all my many years/decades I’ve probably been to less than a dozen or so… I have always felt that concerts are 1) overpriced, 2) way too crowded, 3) and in order to get a good seat, I’d have to pay 10X the price of all the artists’ albums… then if I’m too close I’ll be deafened by the BOOMING speakers shaking the building from their pedestals on stage, probably between me and the artist and ready to fall right on me… so, I have gone to a few… early on, I guess I’d decided they’d have to be REALLY big names, or forget it… not worth spending 2 months pay for 2 tickets… so I believe my first concert was in the early to mid 60’s and stretched out until just about 6 months ago… so I suppose you want to know who I’ve seen… well, ok… to name a few…

Neil Diamond, probably late 60’s to early 70’s when he was really hot stuff…

then there was Fleetwood Mac… back in the days when Stevie and Lindsay were probably still an item and everybody still acted professional (1980’s)… in fact, I liked many of Christine McVie’s songs like “Songbird”

Who else, you ask? Well CSN I think it was without the Y, but I can’t be sure… some of the best harmonies ever sung came from these guys… I saw them about 8-10 years ago and it was a rockin’ event… 

Then, let’s see… most recently was Shawn Phillips, I don’t think he was world famous, or anything, but IMHO, one of the greatest guitarists, lyricists, poets, singers, etc of our time… listen to these lyrics…

Another many of you may have hear of is King Crimson… their hit “21st Century Schizoid Man“, classic and raucous and prophetic… but this has to be one of my faves with haunting harmonies…

now I see The BOSS is up next… saw him in USC stadium 30+ years ago… best damn show by any artist ever… solid three (at least) hours of Bruce and his E Street fellow bombers… PUMPIN’ out the hardest Rock ‘n Roll you’ve ever seen – everybody was sweatin’!!!

Just a few more here… U of M Northrup auditorium where I first found (and now trust) StubHub… Van Morrison… front row orchestra, which just meant fron row center… absolutely awesome, except the poor old fool had a cold and was all wrapped up in a scarf and you could tell he wasn’t where he really wanted to be – but a pro nevertheless…  got a good 2 hours + out of him and his cohorts, no other bands to fill in…

second to last on my list, my homeboy, that good old fella that everyone said couldn’t sing… but he sure could write… now, there’s just WAY to many songs to play so instead, I’m gonna share with you my only ever photo of a celeb in action -voila… not bad for a twenty something kid (me, not him)… had my   Olympus, (WAY before digital), probably used a 100-300 zoom lens and it’s my only ever shot of a bigshot like Bobby…

ok… we’re at the last, which, of course, I’ve saved until last… I still can’t believe I went to the this groups’ concert, more that I could get in… I have no idea how much the tickets were… I had just moved back to MN from NE and I was about 13 or 14 at the time… are you ready for this………………………… it was at a baseball stadium, so they were real far away, but I remember being right at the fence so I really couldn’t have gotten any closer… and yes, I was one of those screaming kids, but it didn’t matter cuz I new every song word for word and could even sing in harmony while my friends just kept screamin’ and we all cried…. ready… have you guessed who it is yet…   ok… this was my first ever concert, and everything afterwords never reached the level of emotion and raw love for… my guys… ..

well… that’s it folks… I guess I’ve used up all my media allotment.. and I did’t think this would be so long, so… I’ll tell you what… since many of my various $.02 thoughts are on holidays and other traditions and expectations… I’ll save them for tomorrow…

ok, then all my new blogosphere friends… have a wonderful Thanksgiving and you will if you’re a football fan)…

and for those of you who plan to begin your “Black Friday” at the crack of midnight… I found out that if you have a Starbuck’s in your Target – they too will be open at midnight… after all, what good’s a sleepy shopper who hasn’t been injected with caffeine after a day of turkey and tryptophan…

zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz……..

