“On July 20, 1969, Commander Neil Armstrong became the first man on the moon. He said the historic words,
“That’s one small step for a man, one giant leap for mankind.”

A camera in the Lunar Module provided live television coverage as Neil Armstrong climbed down the ladder to the surface of the moon.”     Kidport.com

Photo courtesy Kidport.com ( Google Images)
If you were alive on July 20, 1969 and can remember that most exciting day, then you are most fortunate, indeed. If you had your eyes glued to the television, that is. Which was probably black and white. I must admit, back then, I thought it was kind of corny, that whole one step, big step  giant leap thingy. I mean really. That’s not very good poetry.

Then fast forward bzzzzzzz to now. And I think how small I thought back then. I mean the wonder and awe that I was witnessing, meant only a breath of what it means to me today. Imagine. Imagination. Those doughboys in their little white suits, just a’boppin’ around like they were little kids. They were grown men, for heaven’s sake. It WAS farking awesome.

And today, it’s nothing to see a short bit on the news about how some scientist living on the space station, LIVING ON THE SPACE STATION, for gods’ sake, took a stroll around outside to fix their TV antenna, because someone ripped off their satellite dish. I mean, where IS the wonder‽‽‽

It got lost somewhere in the shuffle of turning our attention inward, back on ourselves, on this tiny little ball of stuff called earth. To fight like bratty kids about our toys on the playground. To be the king of the hill, the one who can say,
“it’s MY oil ball and I’m taking it back home unless you let me control keep possession of it so I can charge your little asses all the money I want. Or I’m taking my oil ball and going to play with those bullies over there!”

Well, I’m saying, it’s time to GROW UP, but keep the wonder of a child and let’s explore. Let’s go up and out and see what or who is out there. I want to visit the event horizon of a black hole to see for my self the power of its gravity. I want to dig in the dirt on Mars and grok it for myself. I want to take photos out my flying vehicle windows of Saturn’s rings, see if I can get between a couple and get a panoramic shot.

Back in the day, it was the government who paid for all that fun and exploration and study and sometimes misfortune. Back then, government was who was supposed to pay for all of that. I mean, didn’t you laugh at the rich hermit old man who started his own company promising to have regular runs to the moon and back before the turn of the century? Of course we did. This isn’t some toy you can build and just jump on over to the moon. This is real science. This is important. This is the beginning of a new era, that belongs to all the people, not just the few rich who want to vacation on Mars.

Now, I don’t want to go all off into politics and partisan shit and too much government and god issues here. I just want to see us (citizens of Earth) get our shit together and focus on what is really important. Can you imagine all we can learn from further destinations in Space, other galaxies, other universes? And what we’d have to learn just to get our butts off the planet and travel that far, that fast so the folks back home who watched us leave will still be around when we come back with more news and discoveries of things and places we didn’t even know existed.

And, damn, think of all the wonderful home movies and picture albums we’d have then. To pore over, bring out at family gatherings and pass to our grandchildren so they can sit in corners, pointing and giggling at the old fashioned stuff we had to use back here in the old days, the 21st century.  Like Space Stations and Hubblescopes and such.

But, damn, wouldn’t it be worth it to open it all up for them to continue to explore and grow‽‽‽‽‽‽


Open Culture
YouTube

