Day 13 of the April 2013 A to Z Challenge…

I may have forgotten to mention my theme – it is fractals, fractal art, everything fractal up to and including my new book Fractal Dreams! Have a look around my pages and such to see lots more fractals. Also, every Friday I post a FridayFractalFeature (fff, for short) for all to enjoy! Thanks for stopping by and engaging in the A to Z 2013 Challenge! This is my FIRST ever, so I’m pretty excited! So every day I will post a fractal whose title starts with the letter of the day… and perhaps other things fractal related. Some very good A to Z post on writing at M3 Blog

M is for….
MANDELBROT – Benoit B Mandelbrot (November 20, 1924 – October 14, 2010), that is. I also spoke of him in B because he is worth many, many references. He is pretty much considered the father (or is it grandfather?) of fractals. Due to his pursuit of the area of math that has turned into fractal geometry and considering he coined the word fractal, he’s quite the forefather.  There is a joke about his name, Benoit B. Mandelbrot. It is, “what does the B stand for in Benoit B. Mandelbrot?” Congratulations if you got it without an explanation. Not many will (even I had to ask, don’t feel bad). The answer is immediately funny and appropriate if you know that a fractal, in short, is a self similar shape or form that is recursive (repeats) no matter how far you zoom into it. (See also T is for… for another word that refers to this very property *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*.)
MOONHIGH, MARGOT 1942, MARTHIG, MARIO837 – some awesome fractalists I’ve met on DeviantArt.
Mandelbulb3D (MB3D) – is another FREE fractal generating and rendering application that seems to have taken the fractal world by storm. With it, fractalists are able to create images, 3D images, as have never before been produced. They are, of course, based on fractal math, but apparently MB3D is quite user friendly. I have ddown;oaded it, but have not tried it yet. It seems to become quite addictive almost immediately, so I don’t want to forsake all other apps at this time. I have put MB3D on hold in my arsenal for a while.
the fractal for M is: MOZAMBIQUE

MOZAMBIQUE

MOZAMBIQUE

Mozambique is in my book, Fractal Dreams, which is available exclusively at RedmundPro.

Check out all my art at the following galleries:
RedBubble
DeviantArt

#fractals #AtoZChallenge #bloghop

Disclaimer: I am NOT a mathematician, so please forgive the uneducated tone of my definitions. I am an artist, so I try to explain the math of fractals to the best of my (limited)  ability.